How to: de-stress

Final week is over and I couldn’t be a happier nugget right now. This week I kind of discovered the many ways of relieving stress and what works best for me. Of course this post isn’t mainly focussed on school and finals. Maybe you’re sad or your job stresses you out? I’ll be honored to help you.

Stress is totally normal. We’re humans, it’s what we do. But some times we can be a little bit too hard on ourselves. It’s okay to take a break from studying or whatever stresses you out. You need to make time for yourself, it’s what you need. It’s what everyone needs. Did you know that your brain can only absorb the stuff you try to put in your mind for 20 minutes? So try to take a 5 minute break after every 20 minutes. Go make yourself some food. It’s so important to dedicate your time to food. You need to be conscious of what you put in your body. Go outside! Walk with your dog, go sit in your backyard for a while or just take a little stroll around your neighborhood. Stop locking yourself up love. Maybe you just like to listen to music for a while or you just simply want to text your friends. Try to unplug as much as you can though. Phones need a breather too!

Every once in a while just take a huge break or make sure you’re done by night so you can find some time for yourself. Here’s what I like to do:

1. Take a bath
The amount of baths I take don’t only frighten me, but also my family. What can I say? I love me some baths. Don’t bring your phone or anything that can stress you out. This time is for you. Put a bathbomb in your bathtub and just relax. Maybe bring some soothing music with you or a good book.

2015/01/img_6832.jpg

2. Drawing.
I haven’t drawn in ages, but I found this amazing book the other day. It’s actually called ‘coloring for adults’ and I’m obsessed with it. Nothing is more relaxing to me than getting lost in the beautiful drawings and colors. I love to just snuggle up in 10 blankets at night with some tea and to simply color.

2015/01/img_6834.jpg

2015/01/img_6837.jpg

3. Eat.
As I said earlier in this post; it’s so important to know what you put in your body. So make sure you dedicate your time to your food. Snacking during studying or working can make you so unconscious of what you’re actually eating and you can easily overeat yourself.

2015/01/img_6839.jpg

2015/01/img_6745.jpg

4. Listen to music.
Soothing music is such a good and important stress reliever. Just lay down, close your eyes and listen to the music. It’s so simple, yet so effective.

2015/01/img_6833.jpg

2015/01/img_6838.jpg

5. Hobbies.
Make time for your hobbies! At the end of the day it’s what you love doing most. No matter if it’s working out, collecting rubber ducks or watching movies. As long as you love it and it makes you happy, do it! For me, I like to write, read and sometimes I sneak in a little work out (barely happens).

2015/01/img_6836.jpg

2015/01/img_6831.jpg

Remember not to be too hard on yourself. Start on time, forgive, forget, love, laugh, simplify. When you start making life a little easier on yourself, you’ll find yourself smiling more and worrying less. I believe in you.

Stay beautiful, Anouk.

2 gedachten over “How to: de-stress

Geef een reactie

