Internet friends.

large (7)

When you grow up alongside the internet and television, you’re craving for new apps and tv shows every single day because that’s what you’re used to. When I was 13, Victorious came on for the first time in my country. I fell in love with all the characters, especially Cat. When I found out that Cat was played by Ariana Grande, I started to watch her Youtube videos and fell in love with her as a human being. A few months later I decided to create a fan account for her on Twitter and that’s where it all started. Now, 4 years later, I have a best friend who lives in New York and all my favorite memories, from sleepovers to 3 am conversations about a sushi emoji that looks like a tampon, are with the people who I’ve simply met through the internet.

When I first went to meet someone from Twitter, my parents had no idea what to do. They didn’t know what to do with me anyway since I was on my phone all day long obsessing over someone who didn’t know I existed and I never really went outside to actually meet people from my own town. It just wasn’t for me. I’ve always been a travel kind of kid. Meeting new people who aren’t as close minded as the people I have to go to school with every single day. The first time I went to meet one of my friends has been 1,5 years ago and at this point I’ve already went to sleepovers, birthday parties and cute little meetings in Amsterdam. These people get me differently, in the way I need people to get me. They support my dreams.

When you meet someone and you’re not able to thank them in person for all that they do, it can break you down a little bit. I’ve spent hours applying for contests that will take me to New York or Finland or Singapore or just anywhere my favorite people are. The other day when I told one of my best friends that I was trying to get to New York, he said: ‘You’re so outgoing, I could never just put myself out there and apply for so many contests like you do’ and that made me think a little bit. Not just about what he said, but about what I want and why I’m doing what I’m doing. I realised that friends and family will always come first to me and if that means that I have to jump into a tomato pool with clothes on just so I can be with them, I will. You got to work hard for the things you love, right?

People always ask me why I chose to find friends who can’t be around me every single day and it took me a while to come up with a good answer. But honestly, there isn’t a good answer. All I can say is that the friends I made are incredible individuals. I learn something about their cultures and their countries and just the way they live every single day and it inspires me so much to travel and learn even more. These people bring me so much light and I’m so glad I decided to step out of my comfort zone and created the fan account I did 4 years ago.

Never be afraid to put yourself out there darlings. Before you know it you’re talking about tampon emoji’s with someone from New York.

Stay beautiful, Anouk.

Geef een reactie

