The thing about happiness.

the thing about happiness

Yo girl’s back with another rant. So lately I’ve been thinking a lot about relationships and happiness etc. and I thought it’d be a good idea to share my thoughts with you, hoping that what I’m about to say is helpful to at least one of you.

I’m only 17 years old (almost 18, september 16th, shower me with love) and I already feel pressured every single day to have my life together in terms of being in a relationship. Truth is, a person doesn’t need another person to be 100% happy. I was talking about this with a good friend the other day and I genuinely got upset about the fact that people actually feel like they can’t live a happy life without having a partner by their side. Now, of course I want my dream wedding and have kids, that’s what we all want, but that doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to live a happy life before settling down with someone. I have big plans. After college I want to travel the world, make a career for myself as a writer and so much more. I don’t want to be stuck at home and settle down with someone at the age of 21, thinking that’s what’ll make me happy, because personally, it won’t. You have every right to take everything out of life by YOURSELF. Stop letting the fear of ending up alone take over and make your dreams reality. A relationship status doesn’t define you. I’m not in any, way, shape or form shaming on my readers who are in a relationship. I just want to remind you to not let the other person hold you back from the things you dream about doing. You deserve to look back at your life as a crazy adventure and not the life society tells us to live (school, marry, kids). I have crushes all the time, I get feelings for someone, get upset about them, talk about cute boys all the time etc. but that doesn’t mean I desperately want to be in a relationship. It’s human for me and you to catch feelings or talk about the opposite / same sex. I don’t know what my relationship status is going to be like 5 years from now. Maybe I’ll meet the love of my life next week, or maybe 10 years from now. All I know is that I will live the life I dream about living, regardless of any man that steps into my life, because guess what? I have the ability to make myself happy. You can either go on this adventure with me or find someone who can give you all the love and attention I can’t give you without living my dreams.

Stay beautiful, Anouk

Geef een reactie

