Concert diaries: Jacob Whitesides

What started off as the worst day, turned out to be one of the best days I’ve ever had.

naamloos

Yesterday, October 6th, I finally got to see this gem live. However, when I woke up, I had no idea if I could even make it to the concert. Now, we all know I have terrible eyesight and waking up in the morning always starts off with a blurry view. But the second I woke up I knew something was wrong with my right eye. In utter panic I, somehow, ran downstairs to hear my cousin say my eye was completely swollen. Now, these things will only ever happen to me, so I learned to just laugh it off. However, yesterday’s laugh was a mixture of panic and stress. The last time Jacob came to do a concert in Amsterdam, I had exams, so I wasn’t gonna let the fact that I looked like I’d been in a huge fight, get me from not being able to got to his concert AGAIN. I guess, eventually, the universe was on my side and my eye started to ‘heal’. Even though the pain was still unbearable, I couldn’t be happier.

As soon as the concert started and Jacob came on stage, the pain in my eye immediately disappeared. He’s such a dream to watch and, most importantly, listen to. His live vocals are out of this world and I was absolutely mind blown by his talent. He’s one of those artists that’s so underrated and seen by the media as a boy who can only entertain young girls. But I swear to god, as soon as he comes back to Amsterdam, I’m just gonna drag my dad and all my guy friends (not that I have any friends in general) to his concert and I know for a fact they’ll love it as much. As soon as he left the stage and the lights came back on, I got this weird kind of upset. You live towards this moment for months and just like that, you’re on the train back home. Like it never happened. But then you also get this weird kind of happy, because it actually happened, you know?

When I got home and I thought everything was officially over, he decided to tweet me. Not once, no. He decided to torture me and tweet me TWICE. His interaction with his fans is incredible and something so many artists can learn from. During the concert and also on social media, he has this way of making sure you know that he cares. That’s such a special gift and I hope he’ll cherish that forever, because that’s one of the main reasons why I love him so much. He really is one of a kind.

naamloos (2)

I just hope to meet and thank him in person very soon.

Stay beautiful, Anouk

Geef een reactie

